A Birthday without Cake

I was a kid; really don’t remember the age now but between 5 to 8 years old. It was my birthday 9th September. O My birthday is around the corner. 

The place where we used to lived during that time had a very few luxuries. There were no option of ordering a cake beforehand and also it wasn’t like there were a lot of cake shops. The memory is clear in my mind. Few hours were left and we had a lot to take care of. I myself went with my dad to buy My Birthday Cake. I loved buying my own birthday cake back then as a child.

We went to 3-4 shops where we usually used to get cakes. But that day we didn’t find my birthday cake. No shop had a single cake left not even a small one. I didn’t feel good about it. My friends are going to be there. May be I wanted the cake for my friends, for everyone. My dad was sad too but he knew how to fix the issue as he always does.

We went home. My mom and sisters were ready; my friends had come and were waiting for me. The food was prepared. It was time for cake cutting. I changed my dress and my dad lighted the candles. Everyone looked puzzled. Before anyone could have said anything my dad announced it with a cheerful and positive attitude. “We couldn’t find the cake for my lovely daughter Kriti so today she will cut bread as her birthday cake.” Yes, we bought a whole packet of bread and it became my birthday cake.

The first memory that came to my mind after reading today’s prompt was this incident. Sometimes I laugh about this memory, sometimes I feel happy to have an unforgotten moment of my birthday without a cake.

Author: passiondesignerblog

below quotes describe me the best way "The goal is to die with memories and not dreams." "Every time you find some humor in a difficult situation, you win."

1 thought on “A Birthday without Cake”

Leave a Reply

